top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda Bliss

Is it pregnancy's hormones or just being a mom?

Do you ever have those days where you wonder what is causing you to be this way? Boy am I having one right now.


Today started out...well, tiring. After doing what I needed to do before Jake went to work, I was exhausted already. After he left, all was well. Kids were behaving pretty decently. I was able to play Minecraft for a bit. Then I decided to be an adult and do the things that needed to be done. I got Jaymie down for a nap and some lunch for Wyatt. I got myself some lunch while I started doing a few things on my computer that I needed to do. Jaymie woke up while Wyatt was watching Trolls and eating taco salad. She joined in. Perfect. Still able to get things done.

Then Trolls ended and Wyatt requested "How to Train Your Dragon". I don't know what brought it on, but suddenly the day took a turn. Suddenly the kids were fighting. They were doing things they knew they were not supposed to do. I felt a snap and suddenly was yelling at the kids. We didn't even make it halfway through "How to Train Your Dragon" before I was pulling chairs and ordering the kids to sit. I felt like crying. Jaymie was trying to climb all over me and it was hurting me (I am 6 months pregnant after all)

So I did something to see if it would help. After the snapping and then feeling bad for snapping at a 3-year-old and a 2-year-old, I put Trolls back on. Jaymie still trying to climb all over me, but it's to sit then stand then sit then stand, all while watching this movie. Wyatt sitting in the chair just watching it.


I'm not one who normally tries to use the TV as a babysitter but I had no nerves left. I don't know if it's just from being a mom and it all hitting at once, or if it is from pregnancy hormones or what.

All my life I have prided myself on how patient I am. For the most part, I still was even after becoming a mom. Now suddenly I can't seem to go a day without feeling like I have no nerves left. I don't know if I just need a rest or something. But as a parent, I'm sure this is to be expected now and then. The fact it took me 3.5 years to get to this point has to be a good sign.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Overwhelmed

This mama is feeling so overwhelmed right now and there's nothing I can do to not be. So here we are on the verge of 33 weeks. This means...

Diaper Disaster

So we have never had kids that are picky about what kind of diapers work for them. Sure, we have our favorite diapers (Aldi's brand for...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page