top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda Bliss

Was I made to be a boy mom?

I always felt like I was more of a girly girl. I love dresses and dolls and chick flicks. I love love stories and have always had fun with doing girly things. Yet here I am a mom of about to be 3 - a son, a daughter, and a _____ (yea, im not spilling it for those that do not know). I absolutely LOVE doing the girly things with my daughter. Its my favorite things to do.


But it seems maybe I was meant to be a boy mom. As I write this, I am getting caught up on the CW Arrowverse shows. I have watched every single one since the start and love them.


Watching shows about Green Arrow, Flash, Superman, Supergirl, Batwoman, and all the other super heros is not something I would of thought of as a girl growing up wanting to be a mom. But I feel it will prepare me as my son gets older. Or even if my daughter is into super heros. I've seen all the Marvel movies, and one of the tv series (so far.).


I always thought super heros were for boys. Of course, being the only girl in my family where all my cousins were boys and I have a brother, super heros were something that were everywhere and I just did not care....at least not until I became an adult and CW made the Arrowverse. Then the Marvel movies started and I really enjoy them too. Some, more than others.


Wyatt was given a Spiderman stuffed doll and both he and Jaymie love that thing. It's hard to tell who likes Spiderman more. Wyatt is interested in other superheroes and so we try to keep it so he can experience them, at a kid-friendly level. The CW Arrowverse is a little too adult for him, but I will continue to watch it and even stop the show now and then to research the characters.












Being so into the Arrowverse series makes me wonder if I knew I was going to be a boy mom and prep for it even before I knew my fiance. It started as something I would watch with my brother for family bonding time when it was just me and him. Then we fell behind and we started to watch them on our own - I'm all caught up except for the season that is ongoing right now while he is a few seasons behind. However, he has a rough idea of what is going on because I will go to him and be like "Who is _________" or "What do you know about _______" because going to him seems like a good connection instead of just searching online for answers. I've also played all the Batman Arkham games, except one. I do plan on playing that one - I just haven't had the time or energy to get into it yet.


Its funny how things that you wouldn't think of in your life can help prepare you for your future. I never thought watching a TV series about superheroes would maybe someday help me be a mom to a boy - but now as I work on getting caught up on this seasons episodes and Wyatts asking me about the superheroes - it makes me smile and appreciate my brother for having me watch them with him to start.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Overwhelmed

This mama is feeling so overwhelmed right now and there's nothing I can do to not be. So here we are on the verge of 33 weeks. This means...

Diaper Disaster

So we have never had kids that are picky about what kind of diapers work for them. Sure, we have our favorite diapers (Aldi's brand for...

Комментарии


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page