top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda Bliss

What is with the food?

I swear I do not know what to make these kids for dinner sometimes. We meal plan, as I have said before and I ALWAYS include things they like. If I do not think they are going to like the main dish, I serve them something different. A perfect example is a steak. I LOVE my steaks, but I do not think the kids are up to it yet. So when I made steak this last time (and it's a rare occasion I get to make steak due to cost), I asked the kids what they would like to eat. My meal was steak, mac and cheese, and cornbread. The kids said they wanted mac and cheese, cornbread, hot dog, and mixed veggies. Awesome. So I make them their plate and I even throw in some mixed fruit so they have fruit and veggies.


Let me tell you....they did not eat it. Maybe they ate SOME of it, but not enough to count as them eating a meal. Instead, I'm stepping on crumbled cornbread, I see mac and cheese on the floor, and the fruit and veggies mixed. THANKFULLY - my brother looked so I did not have to get up and he said that it looked like all the hot dog was gone. I don't know for sure, because there is a lot of food all over the place, but I'm optimistic about it.


When I ask them what happened, Wyatt says he was trying to make soup, or ice cream, or salad with the food. When I ask if he's going to eat it, he says no and then asks for a snack.


I just don't get it. I understand if you are not hungry, not eating much, but asking for certain things than just playing with them or asking for a snack. It doesn't fly with this mama. I tell them that's all they are getting until bedtime and if they haven't eaten it, then that's it for the night.


Even pizza, they do this. They request it and then do not eat it! Is this a normal thing for kids? I mean, I know I was a picky eater when I was a kid - when we would go out and eat, I would always order the same thing. But come on! At least I would eat what I requested. Our floor is constantly covered with food because the kids think the food is to play with instead of eating.


Doesn't help that their "playroom" is the "living room", "office", and "dining room". As soon as we are able to move, these are going to be separated to the best of my ability. No food will be in the room with toys and any toys that are in the room with food will be taken back to the room with toys once eating time is over.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Overwhelmed

This mama is feeling so overwhelmed right now and there's nothing I can do to not be. So here we are on the verge of 33 weeks. This means...

Diaper Disaster

So we have never had kids that are picky about what kind of diapers work for them. Sure, we have our favorite diapers (Aldi's brand for...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page